LED dome light conversion

I thought rather that install a incandescent bulb I’d upgrade to LED. First step is to remove the fixture from the truck. Test the switch with a meter and if it works move on. This would be a good time to replace the switch if needed. I still may need to do this.

LED 7

Cut the wire and remove the center bulb contact. This leaves a nice passage to run wires.

LED 6

I picked up a 3 LED bulb from my local electronics store. I’m sure you could get online. It is 12 volt.

LED 5

Peal the tape cover and stick it to the fixture and run the wires though the hole.

LED 3

Crimp on a connector to the wires. I solder and heat shrink mine but I like to over kill. I drilled a hole for the ground wire to run it to the front.

LED 4

Added a connector to run a screw through when remounting your fixture.

LED 2

Put it back together. I ran the glass though the dishwasher before and it looks like new.LED 1

It works.

Don’t do as I do of the day. Don’t install the headliner and windlace before running a wire to under the dash from the fixture. Since this is such a low current draw I was able to fish a very small wire over the headliner and down the piller under the cardboard. It would have been so much easier to have done this before hand.

Leave a Reply

